Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CD-Collection Development & Management: Childrens

Landing Page

Collection Management Expectations

  • Be familiar with our collection development policy.
  • Order selections for your collections in a timely and current manner-1x a week or 2x a month for larger, journal-driven acquisitions
  • After titles are processed by the CM team, they are left on the counter for everyone to look at. Leave your collections for 24-36 hours processing them yourself.
    • Add "New" stickers to new titles that you want patrons to find.
    • Check titles in.
    • Bring any titles that have been placed on hold to the Circulation desk
  • Check New displays on the first of the month (or so), de-sticker titles that are 5-6 months old and return to reshelving cart
    • You can do this more frequently if you have some robust ordering and shelf space is limited
  • Maintain any displays or lists for your collections, keeping them up-to-date with links, new titles, and updated call numbers.
  • Keep your section neat and organized, adding face-outs and signage where needed.

Collection Managers

Kristina

  • Dew-Op, including:
    • Holidays
    • Tales
  • Kindles & Switch
  • Kits w/CB
  • Games w/ CB & ATN and Meg
  • Database Subscriptions
  • Magazines, including:
    • Professional Journals

Anh

  • J Fiction collection, including:
    • J Fiction Large Print
    • J Chapter
    • Poetry, Plays & Short Stories
    • Newbery Collection
    • Nutmeg Nominees
    • Book Club Corner
  • J Graphic collection, including:
    • J Graphic Nonfiction
    • J Graphic Super
    • J Graphic Manga
  • J Super
  • J Video Games w/CB
  • Dew Op: Native American
  • Games w/KJL, CB and Meg

Diane

  • Early Reader Collection, including:
    • Phonics
    • Levels 1-3
  • Picturebook Collection, including:
    • Board Books
    • Caldecott Collection
    • Nursery Rhymes
    • Toddler Books, including:
      • Potty Books
      • ABC
      • 123
  • Storytime Collection (non-circulating)
  • Professional Collection (non-circulating)

Christie B.

  • Dew-Op: Language
  • DVDs/Blu-Rays, including:
    • Holiday DVDs
    • NF DVDs
    • Non-circulating Storytime DVD Collections
  • J Audio Collection, including
    • Book & CD Readalong
    • Playaway Bookpacks
    • Playaways
    • Books on CD
  • J Video Games w/Anh
  • Games w/Kristina & Anh & Meg
  • Kits w/Kristina

 

Children's Collections Table of Contents

Collection Development Policy