Skip to Main Content

Library: Honoring Our Volunteers

Hope H. Swenson Visionary Award

Hope H. Swenson (1937–2010) lived in Ridgefield for nearly 40 years and was closely associated with the town’s Library for all of that time. Her passion was evidenced in her work on the Library Board for more than 35 years, her enthusiastic participation in library events, and her knowledge of and support for the staff. She was elected a Board Member Emerita and in 2009 was awarded the Paccadolmi Award for Leadership. Hope was a long-time generous donor to the Ridgefield Library, making possible many of the services for which the Library has become known. At her passing in 2010, she envisioned a wonderful new library for her beloved Town of Ridgefield and was truly the cornerstone on which this new Ridgefield Library was built. This award honors those who, like Hope, embody the vision and mission of the Ridgefield Library.

Award Winners:

2022  Peggy and Rudy Marconi

2021 No award given

2020 Eileen and Jay Walker

2019 Paul and Dewey McNamara

2018 John and Elaine Couri and Chris and Megan Couri

2017 Rudy and Sally Ruggles

2016 Philip and Christine Lodewick

2015 Anita and Nick Donofrio

2014 Nancy and Larry Bossidy