The Ridgefield Library is a Funding Information Network partner of the prestigious Candid, formerly named Foundation Center, in New York City. Funding Information Network partners provide under-resourced and underserved populations in need of vital information and training with tools they can use to become successful grant seekers. At locations throughout the country, network partners offer free public access to the Center’s online databases and publications, which provide detailed information on grant makers, grant recipients, and guidance on applying for grants. Ridgefield Library has been a partner with the Foundation Center since 2011.
For more information, contact Senior Adult Services Librarian Christie Mitchell at (203) 438-2282 ext. 201.
Candid's Foundation Directory Online Professional and Foundation Grants to Individuals are leading resources for finding funders and provide the most comprehensive information available on grants, grant makers, and grant recipients. Candid was created in February 2019 when Foundation Center and GuideStar joined forces.
*Available on library computers only.
Review the Philanthropy Classification System (PCS) used in Candid’s databases. Use the PCS terms to plan search strategies and improve search results. PCS terms are selected in the drop-down menu when searching Foundation Directory Online using Advanced Search & Filters.
Use Candid's GuideStar (www.guidestar.org) to look up a nonprofit and access the most complete data available. Attract donors with your nonprofit profile, research other nonprofits and more.
Contact the Ridgefield Library Adult Services Desk at: ReferenceDesk@ridgefieldlibrary.org
Candid Learning (formerly GrantSpace) contains information and resources specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effectively.
At Candid Learning, you can:
Candid Websites and Resources
990 Finder: 990 Finder provides access to the most recent Forms 900 and 990-PF filed by nonprofit organizations with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Search the database of individual 990 forms of private foundations, public charities, and other nonprofits.
Collaboration Hub: Offers real-life examples of how nonprofits are working together.
Foundation Landscapes: Education: Helping foundations leverage public and private funds for improving education. Formerly called Foundations for Education Excellence.
FoundationStats: Website is in the process of being updated as of October 2017. Foundation Stats provides the most comprehensive resource available for generating tables and charts on the size, scope, and giving priorities of the U.S. foundation community. Stats include subject areas (such as education), population groups (such as senior citizens), and geographic location (by state or nationwide).
Glasspockets: Showcases online transparency and accountability practices of the largest foundations.
GrantCraft: Valued resource for learning and sharing the craft of grantmaking.
GrantSpace: See Candid Learning
IssueLab: An easy-to-use collection of free case studies, white papers, evaluations, and issue briefs from thousands of foundations and nonprofit organizations.
Philanthropy News Digest: Daily news service of philanthropy includes interviews; opinion; reviews of books, websites, and nonprofits; funding opportunities; and nonprofit job postings.
Youth Giving: A hub to inspire, connect, and inform youth grantmaking. YouthGiving.org is for young people and adults interested in grantmaking where data, knowledge, stories, and resources are shared both locally and globally.
Monday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
(closed summer Sundays)
THE RIDGEFIELD LIBRARY anticipates and meets the evolving needs of our community. We are an essential partner and the place where people discover, question, learn and connect.
