Skip to Main Content

Resources: Nonprofits & Grant Seekers

Foundation Directory Online by Candid

Candid’s databases are the leading resources for finding funders and provide the most comprehensive information available on grants, grantmakers, and grant recipients. Candid was created in February 2019 when Foundation Center and GuideStar joined forces.


Foundation Directory Online (FDO) Essential
Remote access is available with an FDO Essential 24-hour Day Pass.
There is a limit of one 24-hour Day Pass per month.
Click on the link below to get started.

Foundation Directory Online Essential  – Limit of one 24-hour Day Pass per month.

 

FDO Essential and how it differs from FDO Professional:

  1.  FDO Essential has advanced search features like FDO Professional
  2.  105,000+ grantmaker profiles versus 190,000+ profiles in FDO Professional
  3.  300,000+ key decision makers and leaders
  4.  Searchable 990s and 990-PFs
  5.  No federal funders are included
  6.  No recipient profiles are included and you cannot search by recipient name
  7.  No grant descriptions; grant descriptions can be found in the 990s.
  8.  FDO Workspace
  • Foundation Directory Online Professional (FDO)*
    *Available on library computers only.
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online*
    *Available on library computers only.

Review the Philanthropy Classification System (PCS) used in Candid’s  databases. Use the PCS terms to plan search strategies and improve search results. PCS terms are selected in the drop-down menu when searching Foundation Directory Online using Advanced Search & Filters.


FDO Quick Start

FDO Quick Start is a free version of Foundation Directory Online providing public access to essential information on over 100,000 foundations and over 250,000 IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF. Search for foundations by name, EIN, location, and assets or giving range. Then search the funder’s IRS Forms 990 or 990-PF by keyword. Register and create a login to use FDO Quick Start.

Note: Full search features are available from Foundation Directory Online Professional which is available on library computers only.


Need Help?
Contact the Ridgefield Library Adult Services Desk at:
ReferenceDesk@ridgefieldlibrary.org


Knowledge Base Find answers by keyword and topic.

Sample Documents View a winning collection of grant proposals, letters of inquiry, business plans, and other documents you need to make your case to funders.

 Ask Us Connect with Candid staff