Skip to Main Content

Magazines & Newspapers: Home

 

 

NEWSPAPERS

New York Times Digital

To enjoy complimentary access you must create an account. Click Log In and Sign Up to create an account with your personal email address, or log in if you already have created an account.

  • New York Times Digital (Remote Access)

    Offsite/remote access

    1. Open a web browser.
    2. Click on the remote access link (code).
    3. Click “Redeem” to get 72 hours of continuous access.
    4. Register with your personal email address, or click on “log in here” if you have already created an account. 

    Once you have created your account (or have logged in), you will receive an email confirmation of your 72-hour, unlimited access to New York Times Digital.

National Newspapers

America’s News by NewsBank

  • Search over 3,000 U.S. news sources for local news and information, obituaries and more. Articles from The News Times (Danbury, CT 1996-to current) and
    The Ridgefield Press (2003-current) can be accessed from the Quick Links section. Available in the library and remotely with your library card.

ProQuest News and Newspapers

Local Newspapers

The Ridgefield Press is available on microfilm from 1875 through 2003 in the Library. Issues from 2004 through 2018 are available in PDF format on the Library’s public computers. Issues from 2019 on will be kept in print format.

  • The Ridgefield Press from April 2003 to present through America’s News by Newsbank. Full-text, fully searchable archive. Search anywhere, any time and on any device using this mobile friendly resource (Ridgefield Library card required for remote access).

Local Press Websites 

MAGAZINES

Highlighted Magazines

Specific magazines are pulled out and kept in different collections, to highlight their added value to those collections. This includes:

  • American Ancestors (shelved in our Genealogy Collection)
  • Conde Nast Traveler, Travel + Leisure (shelved in our Travel Collection)
  • Consumer Reports (available for in-library browsing, needs to be checked out at the Adult Services Desk)
  • Consumer Reports On Health, Health & Nutrition Letter, WCAAA Insider (shelved in our Medical Reference Collection)
  • Fine Homebuilding (shelved in Adult Nonfiction at 690)
  • Kiplinger Person Finance (shelved in Adult Nonfiction at 332.024)
  • Practical Homeschooling (shelved in our Parents Collection)

 

Magazines Available Digitally

The Library also has a collection of magazines that can be read anywhere while using the Libby App by Overdrive. Use your phone, tablet, laptop or other mobile devices to access the catalog of magazines offered to you by The Ridgefield Library. There are no holds for magazines or limits on how many you can check out, so get started today!


Online Periodicals

MainFILE
Search more than 12,000 publications. Provides indexing and abstracting as well as some full text.

MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals

Consumer Reports
Find product ratings, recommendations and buying guides.

Adult Magazines Available at the Library

The Library has a select variety of magazines that are available for check out for adults. Visit the Friends of the Ridgefield Library Reading Room today to see what is available. (The most recent issue of each magazines in only available for in the library browsing and not available for check out.)

Currently, we have the following magazines in print format in our Reading Room:

  • 068
  • AD (Architectural Digest)
  • The Atlantic
  • Arts in America
  • Better Homes & Gardens
  • Bon Appétit
  • Christian Science Monitor Weekly
  • COINage
  • Connecticut Gardener
  • Connecticut Magazine
  • Connecticut Wildlife
  • Country Living
  • Dwell
  • The Economist
  • Elle Decor
  • Entrepreneur
  • Family Handyman
  • Golf Digest
  • Good Housekeeping
  • Harper's Bazar
  • Harvard Business Review
  • House Beautiful
  • Inc.
  • MIT Technology Review
  • Mother Earth News
  • National Geographic
  • The New Yorker
  • Opera / Opera News
  • Outside
  • People
  • Popular Mechanics
  • Prevention
  • Psychology Today
  • Real Simple
  • Runner's World
  • Scientific American
  • Sports Illustrated
  • This Old House
  • Threads
  • Time
  • Town & Country
  • Vanity Fair
  • Wired
  • Women's Health
  • Yankee

Children's Magazines Available at the Library

The Library has a select variety of magazines that are available for check out for children. Visit the Lodewick Children's Library today to see what is available. (The most recent issue of each magazines in only available for in the library browsing and not available for check out.)

Currently, we have the following magazines in print format:

  • Beans
  • (Cricket) Cobblestone
  • Highlights
  • Highlights Hello
  • Illustoria
  • National Geographic Kids
  • Owl Kids
  • Ranger Ricks
  • (Cricket) Spider
  • Sports Illustrated Kids
  • Young Rider
  • Zoobooks

ABOUT THE LIBRARY

Hours

Monday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday: 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
(closed summer Sundays)


Location

472 Main Street
Ridgefield, CT 06877
www.ridgefieldlibrary.org
203-438-2282


Our Mission

THE RIDGEFIELD LIBRARY anticipates and meets the evolving needs of our community. We are an essential partner and the place where people discover, question, learn and connect.


Ridgefield Library Homepage